Posted by: mhelen37 | March 25, 2010

High Fructose Corn Syrup- :(

While surfing the web yesterday, I came across this link  in the Runner’s World forums and I just had to write about it!

First of all, I am NOT a nutritionist, scientist, biologist, fitness coach or doctor.  I have no real background or expertise BUT I do have common sense and a desire to take care of myself and my children.  Secondly, I didn’t know how much corn was used/integrated into our diet until my daughter’s first grade class did a project on corn.  I was shocked to see how much corn was in everything: ketchup, sodas, most snack items, etc!  And just google high fructose corn syrup and government subsidies, that will freak you out!    I like what Michael Pollan says in this Time article, basically eat real food and more of it!  It is crazy to think that so many of our health problems as Americans can be traced to unhealthy eating, and the part politics/money has played in it is quite shocking.

I believe we vote with what we buy and I’m really trying to change my habits and- most importantly- my children’s eating habits.  Our parents may not have known better. When these products were introduced, everyone loved them  (and they are yummy!) Even if this research isn’t completely proven true, I have to believe that real fruits and vegetables are always better than sweetened juices and twinkies!  I also don’t like big business interfering in my diet/health.  BTW, I took a break from the web and went to my fridge to grab a drink: Lemonade in a carton, guess what??? Yep: HFCS-WTH???  Check out your cupboard!

Leave a Reply

Categories

